Sign Out
Logged In:

Association of European O.R. Societies (EURO)

The OR Society is a member of EURO, the Association of European Operational Research Societies.

EURO is a regional grouping within IFORS, the "International Federation of Operational Research Societies". It is a "non profit" association domiciled in Switzerland. Its affairs are regulated by a Council consisting of representatives/alternates of all its members and an Executive Committee which constitutes its board of directors. Its aim is to promote Operational Research throughout Europe which it does by running conferences, publishing journals, giving prizes and awards, running various working groups and overseeing other promotional initiatives such as 24 Hour O.R.

The members of EURO are normally full members of IFORS and comprise the national OR societies of countries located within or nearby (in a broad sense) Europe. There are currently 30 member societies.

The Council elects a President, a President-Elect, three Vice-Presidents, and a Secretary. These six EURO officers form the Executive Committee. The President-Elect serves for only one year whereas all others are elected for two years. Since 1993 the Executive Committee is assisted by a Permanent Secretariat.