Journal of Simulation (JOS): Call for Editor

The Society invites interested parties to submit their CVs for consideration to join the Society's Journal of Simulation editorial team. (JOS)

The deadline for expressions of interest is 24 February 2023.

The Journal of Simulation was founded in 2006 and publishes articles and technical notes from researchers and practitioners active in simulation. JOS encourages papers that span the breadth of the simulation process, including both modelling and analysis methodologies, and practical papers from a wide range of simulation applications in domains including manufacturing, service, defence, health care, and general commerce. JOS will particularly seek topics that are not "mainstream" in nature but interesting and evocative to the simulation community.

The journal is currently co-edited jointly by Christine Currie (University of Southampton, UK), Navonil Mustafee (University of Exeter, UK), and Claudia Szabo (University of Adelaide, Australia). The journal's Editorial team has over thirty-five associate editors in place. 

Full information on the journal can be found at:

John Fowler has recently stepped down as a Co-Editor of the journal having completed two terms as editor. The new Co-Editor will fill this vacancy and will be expected to start in March 2023.


The selected editor should be internationally recognised, be able to embrace both the theoretical and practical aspects of simulation research and demonstrate a clear understanding of the journal's aims and have constructive ideas on its future development to meet the challenges and needs of the subject and the Society.

The appointment is for an initial period of five years, potentially renewable beyond that. Support will be given by the existing editors and the journals team to help the new editor to learn more about the role during the early part of their term. An honorarium is paid to each editor. 

Articles are submitted to and managed through ScholarOne.

Please send your CV with a cover letter to Seb Hargreaves, Executive Director at [email protected].