The Doctoral Award

The award, for the 'Most Distinguished Body of Research leading to the Award of a Doctorate in the field of OR', is an annual award, with the award being made at The OR Society’s Blackett Lecture in November.

The qualifying period is the calendar year in which the PhD or DPhil is defended or approved. For the full timetable, see the Guidelines tab. The thesis being submitted for consideration must have been examined at a UK University within the relevant time period.

With a prize fund of up to £2500 plus conference places available for the winner and runners-up, this represents an exciting development for PhD students. Initial nominations are normally from the external examiner who has identified the body of research as of exceptional quality.

The winner of the award wins a cash prize of £1500. Up to two runners-up each receive £500. The winner has their name engraved on the George Paterson shield as a permanent record of their achievement. The successful candidates are expected to present their work at the annual conference of The OR Society. A significant contribution towards to cost of the conference is available to all prize winners.

The deadline for receipt of submissions is 31 May 2019. All submissions should be to Charlene Timewell, The OR Society Research and Publications Officer [email protected].

The winner and runners-up for this award are announced in October.

The George Patterson Memorial Shield of The OR Society

The George Paterson Memorial Shield

2017 Doctoral Award Winner

Jeeu Fong Sze, University of Kent, "Hybridisation Search for a Class of Vehicle Routing Problems"

Runner-up: Mohsen Mesgarpour, University of Westminster "Predictive Risk Modelling of Hospital Emergency Readmission, and Temporal Comorbidity Index Modelling Using Machine Learning Methods"


Jeeu Fong Sze

Previous Awards

Read More


Read More