Cook Medal

This award is named in memory of Steve Cook, a practitioner-turned-academic known for innovative and effective education in OR. He devoted his working life to the formal and informal use of OR concepts in helping bring about enlightened social change.

The Cook Medal is awarded in recognition of the most outstanding contribution to the philosophy, theory or practice of Knowledge Management published in Knowledge Management Research & Practice (KMRP) within the relevant period.

Citation for Cook Medal 2020

Eleni-Maria Kalogeraki, Dimitrios Apostolou, Nineta Polemi and Spyridon Papastergiou

Knowledge management methodology for identifying threats in maritime/logistics supply chains 

Knowledge Management Research and Practice, 16 (4), 508-524 

This year’s medal is awarded to Eleni-Maria Kalogeraki, Dimitrios Apostolou, Nineta Polemi, Spyridon Papastergiou all of whom are based in Greece. The judges recognised the importance of this topic and the extent of the research undertaken to strengthen the exchange of knowledge across organisations in order to identify potential cyber threats in maritime logistics supply chains. The Project highlighted the Knowledge Management aspects of this work and demonstrated the importance of developing practical and theoretical knowledge in this field. The paper proposes a knowledge management methodology and an associated tool for maritime logistics supply chains (MLoSC), which aims to enable sharing of supply chain knowledge and suggests ways for identifying cyber threats. 

The authors are also to be congratulated on creating an accessible and engaging paper on this subject.

From left to right; Eleni-Maria Kalogeraki, Dimitrios Apostolou, Nineta Polemi & Spyridon Papastergiou

Previous Awards

Read More


Read More