The Doctoral Award Previous Awards

  • 2018 - Geraint Palmer
  • 2017Jeeu Fong Sze, University of Kent
  • 2016 - Itamar Megiddo, University of Strathclyde
  • 2015 - Çagri Koç, HEC Montréal
  • 2014 - Martin Takác, University of Edinburgh
  • 2013 - T Lidbetter, London School of Economics 
  • 2012Kabir Rustogi, University of Greenwich
  • 2011Richard Wood, Cardiff University
  • 2010 - F Liberatore, University of Kent
  • 2009 - A Strauss, Lancaster University
  • 2008 - K Kaparis, Lancaster University

2018 Doctoral Award Winner

Geraint Palmer, PhD: "Modelling Deadlock in Queueing Systems"

Runners-up: Andrew Starkey and Christoph Werner

2017 Doctoral Award Winner

Jeeu Fong Sze, University of Kent, "Hybridisation Search for a Class of Vehicle Routing Problems"

Jeeu Sze’s thesis introduces a hybrid algorithm for vehicle routing that incorporates variable neighbourhood search and large neighbourhood search, which are rarely used in combination. To exploit this novel approach, new and powerful data structures were developed and a neighbourhood reduction scheme was designed to speed-up the search.  The hybrid algorithm performed very well in the computational tests reported in the thesis.

The vehicle routing problems considered in the thesis focus on arrival times of the vehicles at each customer.  Motivated by applications in humanitarian aid following a disaster, minimising the sum of arrival times and the maximum arrival time were considered as objectives, rather than adopting the classical objective of minimising the total distance travelled.  The flexibility of  

hybrid algorithm for solving both the min-sum and min-max versions of the problem emphasises its versatility.

The external examiner commented that “I would expect that the excellent results achieved by the work, would be the subject of attention, reference and scrutiny by other researchers” and also stated “the methodology developed in the thesis offers a good platform for the research community in VRP to further investigate and extend the proposed ideas”.

Runner-up: Mohsen Mesgarpour, University of Westminster "Predictive Risk Modelling of Hospital Emergency Readmission, and Temporal Comorbidity Index Modelling Using Machine Learning Methods"


Jeeu Fong Sze

2016 Doctoral Award Winner

Itamar Megiddo, University of Strathclyde, “Modelling for Healthcare Policy”

Itamar Megiddo’s thesis focuses on agent-based approaches to build models that inform healthcare policy decisions. A centrepiece of his research is the development of IndiaSim, an agent-based model for planning health services in India, which is used in several of the chapters within the thesis. The application of IndiaSim to rotavirus vaccination has influenced the Indian government in introducing the rotavirus vaccine into the Indian Universal Immunisation Programme. As well as the agent-based modelling, the thesis also contains a computational game theoretic analysis that explores the potential for neighbouring countries to coordinate their vaccination strategies in order to maximise their shared benefits.

The thesis starts with a discussion of the implications of the decisions taken by the modeller. For universal health coverage in which everyone in low- and middle-income countries has access to non-impoverishing, high-quality, essential healthcare, the objectives of interest affect the modelling decisions to be made. In the subsequent chapters of the thesis, these general principles are then applied in the ecological modelling of competing bacterial strains, the economic evaluation of health interventions, household financial impact of health conditions, and agent-based modelling of infectious diseases. This collection of studies demonstrates the ability to draw on techniques and insights from different scientific domains and integrate them through modelling as part of a problem solving process.

The external examiner commented that “Itamar displayed mastery of several fields of study through his thesis”; “each of these fields is usually a topic of a single PhD thesis, so it is highly impressive that Itamar’s thesis brought them together in a coherent body of work”; and “his work has the potential to make substantial contributions to both operational research and to improving human health worldwide”. There are four published papers based on work reported in the thesis, with a fifth paper currently under review, and two further published papers resulting from extensions of the PhD research.

Runners-up: Andres Felipe Osorio Muriel, University of Southampton, Stefano Starita, University of Kent

Itamar Megiddo winner of 2016 Doctoral Award

Itamar Megido

2015 Doctoral Award Winner

Çagri Koç, University of Southampton, at the CIRRELT, and at Canada Research Chair in Distribution Management

Runners-up: Johanna Garzon-Rozo, University of Edinburgh; Chris Smith, Aston/Warwick, now at the University of Manchester.

Çagri Koç winner of 2015 Doctoral Award with John Hopes

Çagri Koç with John Hopes

2014 Doctoral Award Winner

Martin Takác, University of Edinburgh

Runners-up: Saeideh Nasiri, Lancaster University; Rob Shone, Cardiff University; Rui Wang, University of Sheffield

2013 Doctoral Award Winner

T Lidbetter, London School of Economics

Runners-up: C Pickardt, University of Warwick; J Vile, Cardiff University

2012 Doctoral Award Winner

Kabir Rustogi, University of Greenwich

Kabir Rustogi winner of 2012 Doctoral Award with Geoff Royston and Gavin Blackett

Kabir Rustogi with Geoff Royston (President of The OR Society)

2011 Doctoral Award Winner

Richard Wood, Cardiff University

Runners-up: S Allen, University of Nottingham; Dong Li, Lancaster University

Richard Wood winner of 2011 Doctoral Award with Geoff Royston

Richard Wood with Geoff Royston (President of The OR Society)

2010 Doctoral Award Winner

Federico Liberatore, University of Kent

Runners-up: Md Asaduzzaman, University of Westminster; G De Maere, University of Nottingham

Federico Liveratore winner of 2010 Doctoral Award with Richard Eglese

Federico Liberatore with Richard Eglese (President of The OR Society)

2009 Doctoral Award Winner

Arne Strauss, Lancaster University

Runners-up: S Adeyemi, University of Westminster; A Tako, University of Warwick

Arne Strauss winner of 2009 Doctoral Award with Richard Eglese

Arne Strauss with Richard Eglese (President of The OR Society)

2008 Doctoral Award Winner

Konstantinos Kaparis, Lancaster University

Runner-up: D Arthur, University of Surrey

Konstantinos Kaparis winner of 2008 Doctoral Award with Richard Eglese

Konstantinos Kaparis with Richard Eglese (President of The OR Society)