Wed, September 23, 2020


You need to sign in to add a comment

Sign In

Not an OR Society Member

Find out the benefits of being a member

Become a member

ORS President Edmund Burke Nominated As RAEng Fellow

Fifty-three leading engineers from the UK and around the world have been elected as Fellows of the Royal Academy of Engineering in recognition of their outstanding and continuing contributions to the profession. They join an Academy on a mission to use the power of engineering to build a sustainable society and create an inclusive economy that works for everyone.

All the new Fellows will be formally admitted to Fellowship at the Academy’s online AGM on Tuesday 22 September, and they will add their expertise to a Fellowship of almost 1,600 eminent engineers from both industry and academia.

Sir Jim McDonald FREng FRSE, President of the Royal Academy of Engineering, says: “As the UK’s National Academy for engineering and technology, we bring together an unrivalled community of leading business people and industrialists, entrepreneurs, innovators and academics from every part of engineering and technology.

“The new Fellows who join us today are among the most talented and successful engineers working in the field today, leaders in areas from transport and our essential data infrastructure to lifesaving developments in medical research. We look forward to working with them and benefiting from their ideas and insight as we strive to inform public debate and provide workable solutions to our shared national and global challenges.”

The complete list of Fellows elected in 2020 is as follows:


Dr Rajapillai Ahilan, Group Chief Executive Officer, LOC Group

Professor Philip Blythe, Chief Scientific Adviser, Department for Transport; Professor of Intelligent Transport Systems, Newcastle University

Philip Bond, Professor of Creativity and Innovation, University of Manchester

Billy Boyle, Co-founder and Director, Owlstone Medical

Dr Julie Bregulla, Director, Fire and Building Technology Group, Building Research Establishment

Andrew Bud, Founder and CEO, iProov Limited

Professor Edmund BurkeDeputy Vice-Chancellor, University of Leicester

Professor James Busfield, Professor of Materials and Director of Industrial Engagement, Queen Mary University of London

Professor Jon Carrotte, Rolls-Royce/RAEng Professor of Aerothermal Technology, Loughborough University

Dawn Childs, UK Change Director, National Grid

Craig Clark MBE, Founder and Chief Strategy Officer, AAC Clyde Space

Paul Clarke CBE, Chief Technology Officer, Ocado Ltd

Professor Trevor Cross, VP Innovation, Space and Quantum, Teledyne e2v

Professor Yulong Ding, Founding J. Chamberlain Professor of Chemical Engineering, University of Birmingham

Professor William Drury, Independent Consultant

David Edwards, Operational Excellence Manager, Thames Water

Richard Elsy CBE, CEO, High Value Manufacturing Catapult

Professor Leroy Gardner, Professor of Structural Engineering, Imperial College London

Professor Philippa Gardner, Professor of Theoretical Computer Science, Imperial College London

Professor Deborah Greaves OBE, Head of School of Engineering, Mathematics and Computing, and Professor of Ocean Engineering, University of Plymouth

Professor Joseph Hajnal, Professor of Imaging Science, King’s College London

Professor Yang Hao, Professor in Antennas and Electromagnetics, Queen Mary University of London

Professor Mark Harman, Engineering Manager, Facebook

Richard Hopkins, IBM Distinguished Engineer and President, the IBM Academy of Technology, IBM

Professor Kirill Horoshenkov, Professor of Acoustics, University of Sheffield

Dr Bryn Hughes, Head of Science and Engineering Profession, and Senior Technical Fellow, Dstl

Professor Naeem Hussain, Director, Arup Fellow: Global Bridge Design Leader, Arup

Air Marshall Richard Knighton CB, Deputy Chief of the Defence Staff (Military Capability), Ministry of Defence

Professor David Larbalestier, Chief Materials Scientist, National High Magnetic Field Lab & Francis Eppes Professor, Florida State University (USA)

Professor Peter Lee, Professor of Materials Science, University College London

Professor Kai Hong Luo, Chair of Energy Systems, University College London

Professor Stuart Lyon, AkzoNobel Chair in Corrosion Control, University of Manchester

Professor Cav Sandro Macchietto, Professor of Process Systems Engineering, Imperial College London

Professor Omar Matar, RAEng/PETRONAS Research Chair in Multiphase Fluid Dynamics, Imperial College London

Professor Charles Wang-Wai Ng, CLP Holdings Professor of Sustainability, Hong Kong University of Science and Technology (Hong Kong Special Administrative Region)

Tony O'Brien, Global Practice Leader, Geotechnics, Mott Macdonald

Professor Eann Patterson, A.A. Griffith Chair of Structural Materials and Mechanics, The University of Liverpool

Colin Paynter, Managing Director, Airbus Defence and Space UK

Professor John Robertson FRS, Director of Research, University of Cambridge

Professor Esther Rodriguez-Villegas, Professor of Low Power Electronics and Director of the Wearable Technologies Lab & Imperial College London

Dr Lucy Rogers, Director, Makertorium Ltd; VP of Creativity and Communication, Brunel University

Dr Antony Rowstron, Deputy Lab Director and Distinguished Engineer, Microsoft Research

Dr Norman Smith, Chief Executive Officer, Vision RT Ltd

Professor Richard Stone, Professor of Engineering Science, University of Oxford

Professor Tong Sun MBE, Professor of Sensor Engineering, City University London

Professor Rahim Tafazolli, Regius Professor of Electronic Engineering & Founder/Director of 5G Innovation Centre (5GIC), University of Surrey

Dr Alison Vincent, Non-Executive Director: Synectics Plc, Telesoft Ltd, Connected Places Catapult, uMotif, Cybertonica, Arqit

Roger Wells, Head of Technology (Industrial Turbomachinery) & Innovation Manager (Power Generation) & Siemens UK

Dr Charles Woodburn, Group Chief Executive Officer, BAE Systems plc

Professor Yong Yan, Professor of Electronic Instrumentation and Director of Innovation, School of Engineering and Digital Arts, University of Kent

International Fellows

Professor Pan Hui (Finland), Nokia Chair in Data Science, University of Helsinki; Director of HKUST-DT Systems and Media Lab, Hong Kong University of Science and Technology

Dr Asad Madni (USA), Distinguished Adjunct Professor & Distinguished Scientist, UCLA

Kunasingham Sittampalam (Malaysia), Executive Vice Chairman, HSS Engineers Berhad