Thu, October 06, 2022


You need to sign in to add a comment

Sign In

Not an OR Society Member

Find out the benefits of being a member

Become a member

Update on creation of a National Academy for the Mathematical Sciences

The Council for the Mathematical Sciences (of which The OR Society is a member) has taken an important step towards creating a National Academy for the Mathematical Sciences with the appointment of an Executive Committee and Executive Director to carry out the feasibility and set-up phase.

The proposed academy would represent and advocate for the mathematical sciences and people who work in them including educators, practitioners and academics. It would operate across the whole of the mathematical sciences, including operational research, statistics and mathematics. 

The Executive Committee will lead a focussed programme of work, to put in place the structures required for a National Academy to be set up and able to begin its work by the first half of 2025. There will be consultation and discussion in the mathematical sciences community at stages before then.

The idea for a National Academy for Mathematical Sciences was put forward in Professor Philip Bond’s Review: Era of Mathematics, published in 2018, to provide, for the first time, a single body which represents the whole of the mathematical sciences.

The CMS is determined that an academy will be inclusive in at least four ways:

  • It will cover all mathematical sciences, including mathematics (pure and applied), statistics and operational research.
  • It will involve and include practitioners, academics and educators.
  • It will have equality, diversity and inclusion at its heart.
  • The internal structures of the Academy must allow room for a diversity of views and use this creative tension to its advantage.

For further information on the vision for the Academy, please see this page (which has some key extracts from the Green Paper).

The new executive director is Christie Marr.

The executive committee, chaired by Nigel Campbell, includes names that are likely to be familiar to OR Society members, such as Sophie Carr, Nira Chamberlain, Christine Currie and Ruth Kaufman.

To read the full announcement:

visit the CMS website